10 politicians join race to succeed May as Britain's prime minister

Source: Xinhua| 2019-06-11 02:22:12|Editor: xuxin
Video PlayerClose


File photo taken on Nov. 20, 2018 shows British Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt arriving at 10 Downing Street for a cabinet meeting in London, Britain. The race to choose a new prime minister officially started on June 10, 2019 with ten hopefuls bidding to win the biggest job in British politics. (Xinhua/Han Yan)

LONDON, June 10 (Xinhua) -- The race to choose a new prime minister officially started Monday with ten hopefuls bidding to win the biggest job in British politics.

The list of contenders emerged when a deadline closed with the successor to Theresa May expected to be announced before the end of July.

Former Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson remains favorite to win the race. To guarantee a place in the final two that will be decided in a national vote among around 160,000 grassroots Conservative party members, Johnson will have to convince enough of the more than 300 Conservative MPs that he is the best person to move into 10 Downing Street.

Critical to the process of choosing a successor as leader of the Conservatives will be how each of the politicians taking part in the process plan to handle Brexit, the task described as the poisoned chalice of British politics.

The person chosen as leader will automatically become Prime Minister, though Queen Elizabeth II has to approve the appointment.

Johnson was the first in the line-up of contenders to say he would seek a deal with the EU but would be prepared to leave on Oct.31 with no deal.

That is likely to put him at odds with MPs, many of them Conservatives, insisting Britain must reject any notion of a no-deal Brexit.

May's failure to deliver a Brexit deal to bring Britain out of the European Union, was the reason for her exit last Friday as leader of the Conservative Party.

She will remain as caretaker prime minister until her successor is chosen.

Over the coming weeks the long list will be reduced in a serious of ballots among Conservative politicians at Westminster. When the list is down to just two names the task will be handed over to grassroots members of the Conservative Party.

Another frontrunner is Johnson's successor as Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt.

Hunt has said a very smart approach is needed to tackle the Brexit question, adding: "I will never take action to provoke a general election before we have delivered Brexit because that would be absolutely fatal for our (Conservative) party."

Among Hunt's supporters were International Trade Secretary Liam Fox and cabinet colleagues, Amber Rudd and the Work and Pensions Secretary.

Political observers said such a group of heavyweight front-bench politicians have given Hunt's a better chance of success.

Environment Secretary Michael Gove is also in the line-up, having spent the weekend responding to front-page headlines telling how, when he was working as a 30-year-old journalist he took the drug cocaine.

Gove was also critical of Johnson saying his "deal or no deal" strategy was destined for failure and could bring about a general election.

It would result in a vote of no confidence in a Conservative government, ushering in a Labour-run government led by their leader Jeremy Corbyn by Christmas, said Gove.

Completing the list are Health Secretary Matt Hancock, Home Secretary Sajid Javis, former Brexit secretary Dominic Raab, International Development Secretary Rory Stewart, former Leader of the Commons Andrea Leadsom, former minister Esther McVey and backbencher Mark Harper.

   1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next   >>|

KEY WORDS: British
下载app送菠菜彩金网址 沈丘县| 高要市| 巫溪县| 平和县| 会泽县| 双辽市| 涞源县| 攀枝花市| 罗源县| 衡阳县| 泸水县| 大名县| 锡林郭勒盟| 新和县| 南投市| 莱芜市| 宁南县| 依安县| 保康县| 新野县| 洪雅县| 梨树县| 阿图什市| 耿马| 嘉善县| 临朐县| 大港区| 元谋县| 武城县| 漳州市| 清流县| 洪洞县| 玉树县| 怀安县| 宜宾县| 苗栗市| 申扎县| 大荔县| 北辰区| 潍坊市| 赤城县| 谢通门县| 全南县| 苏州市| 平顺县| 峨边| 丹江口市| 华亭县| 务川| 云霄县| 孝昌县| 东乌珠穆沁旗| 郁南县| 曲沃县| 鄢陵县| 宣武区| 平远县| 蒲城县| 南汇区| 茌平县| 山阳县| 南木林县| 涟源市| 阳高县| 安康市| 二手房| 克拉玛依市| 龙川县| 砚山县| 明水县| 大新县| 阿巴嘎旗| 上饶县| 微山县| 海宁市| 康保县| 成都市| 易门县| 根河市| 嘉兴市| 玛曲县| 拉萨市| 大悟县| 宿迁市| 呼伦贝尔市| 松桃| 恩平市| 丰原市| 奉化市| 全南县| 留坝县| 无棣县| 陇西县| 肇庆市| 安陆市| 乌兰浩特市| 杭锦旗| 隆尧县| 宁陕县| 海晏县| 米脂县| 抚州市| 呼玛县| 华安县| 龙泉市| 浮梁县| 天津市| 哈尔滨市| 孝感市| 璧山县| 循化| 邵东县| 哈密市| 屏东县| 乐陵市| 抚宁县| 阿图什市| 清徐县| 平乐县| 太原市| 五家渠市| 冷水江市| 温宿县| 平顶山市| 城固县| 雅安市| 固阳县| 定日县| 长乐市| 江北区| 武隆县| 鹿泉市| 民乐县| 永寿县| 正蓝旗| 霍山县| 乌苏市|